

STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXAMINERS 3443 NORTH CENTRAL AVENUE, SUITE 1700

PHOENIX, AZ 85012

PHONE: 602.542.1882 FAX: 602.364.0890

Board Website: www.azbbhe.us

Email Address: information@azbbhe.us

DOUGLAS A. DUCEY
Governor
TOBI ZAVALA
Executive Director

SOCIAL WORK ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Friday, July 26, 2016

Members Present: Jeanette Devevo, Richard Herbig, Josefina Ahumada

Staff Present: Tobi Zavala, Executive Director; Mary Wilson and Elma Brambila, Credentialing

Specialists

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on July 29, 2016, at 9:01 a.m. with Ms. Ahumada presiding.

2. Roll Call

See above.

3. Review and Approval of Minutes

Ms. Devevo moved, seconded by Dr. Herbig, to approve the minutes from the May 10, 2016, meeting as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Report from Chair

N/A

5. Report from the Executive Director and/or staff

A. General agency operations

No report

B. Annual election of Chair and Secretary

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to nominate Ms. Ahumada and Ms. Devevo to continue to serve as Chair and Secretary. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Ahumada and Ms. Devevo agreed to continue to serve.

C. Discussion regarding rules

Tabled

6. Assistant Attorney General's Report: Marc Harris, A.A.G.

None

7. National and regional trends and news regarding the profession(s)

None

8. Supervisor exemption request: review, consideration and action

None

9. <u>Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions and inactive status</u>

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to approve the consent agenda as submitted granting 60-day extensions to Katherine Mommaerts, Donald Bishop, Juanita Young, Melodie Harmon, and Carolyn McArthur and an exam extension to Andrea McCluskey. The motion passed unanimously.

10. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding applications received under rules prior to November 1, 2015

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to approve the consent agenda as submitted approving applications for Rene Garnier and Debra Hobaica to be reviewed pursuant to rules in effect prior to November 1, 2015. The motion passed unanimously.

11. Exam accommodation and/or extension requests and inactive extension requests

None

12. Applications for licensure: review, consideration and action

Appeals

A. David Hobert

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion by members, Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to recommend to the Board to authorize the applicant to test upon receipt of a completed work experience form that meets requirements. The motion passed unanimously.

B. Lyn Cameron

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, members agreed that the applicant meets minimum requirements.

C. Joy Golden

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion by members, Ms. Devevo moved, seconded by Dr. Herbig, to recommend to the Board to deny the appeal. The motion passed unanimously.

D. Linda Griffith

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion by members, Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to recommend to the Board to deny the appeal. The motion passed unanimously.

The committee broke to review files at 9:50 a.m., reconvening its public meeting at 12:42 p.m.

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 14 applicants as Licensed Clinical Social Workers upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Jennifer Nelson	Kiley Hoffman	Jessica Martin	Leticia Perez-Pinto
Stephanie Mushrush	Debra Hobaica	Shirley Hanson	Esther Delpozo
Justin Evans	Tracey Corbett	Kristy Schutt	Amee Vermeire
Molly Haak	Emily Nielsen		

The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to recommend to the Board to approve Catherine Rousseau and Juan Garbinski as Licensed Clinical Social Workers by endorsement upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam, a favorable fingerprint report, and the license issue fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to recommend to the Board to approve Nancy Devine, Amanda Williams and Hannah Eiselin as Licensed Clinical Social Workers upon receipt of the license issue fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to recommend to the Board to approve Lyn Cameron as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker by endorsement upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issue fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 6 applicants as Licensed Clinical Social Workers by endorsement upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Patricia Mehrhoff Jennifer Gurski Lana Brown Victora Saali Erin Lowry Cynthia Duggin

The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to recommend to the Board to deny Travis Webb based on failure to meet minimum licensure requirements. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to recommend to the Board to deny Erica Wagner as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker based on failure to meet minimum requirements and pending the Board's disposition of the background investigation. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to recommend to the Board to deny Helen Jackson as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker based on failure to meet minimum requirements by endorsement and pending the Board's disposition of the background investigation. The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

- Carla Byars
- Carmen Calderon
- Renee Garnier

13. Future agenda items

None

14. Call for public comment

No one responded to the call for public comment.

15. Establishment of future meeting dates

The next meeting is scheduled for September 13, 2016, at 9:00 a.m., at 3443 N Central Avenue, Conference Room 1705.

Following discussion, members agreed the meetings for the rest of 2016 are as follows: September 13th, October 18th, and November 29th.

16. Adjournment

Dr. Herbig moved, seconded by Ms. Devevo, to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 12:43 p.m.

Jeanette Devevo, Secretary	Date
201010 20101011	2 400