STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXAMINERS 3443 NORTH CENTRAL AVENUE, SUITE 1700

PHOENIX, AZ 85012

PHONE: 602.542.1882 FAX: 602.364.0890

Board Website: www.azbbhe.us

Email Address: information@azbbhe.us

DOUGLAS A. DUCEY Governor

TOBI ZAVALA Executive Director

COUNSELING ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Friday, November 18, 2016

Members Present: Patricia Kerstner, Janet O'Connor, Kathleen Britton

Staff Present: Tobi Zavala, Executive Director; Donna Dalton, Deputy Director; Elma

Brambila, Credentialing Specialist; Zuri De Luzio, Credentialing Specialist

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on November 18, 2016, at 9:03 a.m., with Dr. Kerstner presiding.

2. Roll Call

See above.

3. Review and Approval of Minutes

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to approve the October 28, 2016, general meeting minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Report from Chair

No report.

5. Report from the Executive Director and/or staff

A. General Agency Operations

No report

6. Assistant Attorney General's Report: Marc Harris, A.A.G.

No report.

7. Supervisor exemption requests: review, consideration and action

A. Jennifer Fout (outside supervisor)

Members reviewed information submitted regarding the request for exemption.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to approve the request for an outside supervisor. The motion passed unanimously.

B. Violeta Huerta (outside supervisor)

Members reviewed information submitted regarding the request for exemption.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the request for an outside supervisor. The motion passed unanimously.

C. Cynthia Viera (outside supervisor)

Members reviewed information submitted regarding the request for exemption.

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to approve the request for an outside supervisor. The motion passed unanimously.

D. Tammy Brewer (outside supervisor)

Members reviewed information submitted regarding the request for exemption.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to approve the request for an outside supervisor. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to rescind this committee's August 26, 2016, motion to deny the request for an exemption. The motion passed unanimously.

8. Applications for reassessment: Review, consideration and action

None

9. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting 60-day extension to Rachel White, Nathan Mitchell and Anikka Castle. The motion passed unanimously.

10. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding applications requesting review under rules prior to November 1, 2015

None

11. Exam extension nad/ore accommodation requests: review, consideration and action

None

12. Applications for licensure: review, consideration and action

A. Review, consideration, and possible action regarding applications for licensure

The Committee broke for lunch at 11:55 a.m., reconvening its public meeting at 12:57 p.m.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 10 applicants as Licensed Professional Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Brandon Moak Christine Taylor Roxanne Prillwitz Mimi Kennedy-Ross
Amanda Collins Carrie Christiansen Rachel Nick Christine Hayes
Sigal Simhony Nadler Dianna Van Sanford

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Melodie Harmon as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Suzanne Teal, Ricky Peacock, Rungrat Soimara and Catherine Bowser as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Starr Denison, and Martiza Doyle as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to deny Anthony Ludwig, Daniel Vose and Maeve Shaughnessy based on their failure to establish that they meet minimum requirements in supervised work experience. The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

Julie LaJoeDavid PenningtonBrenna GonzalesRalitsa WiersonMike PetagnaPatrick ReynoldsLauren DayRobin Johnson

Blake Pindyck Kellye Kohn Alyssa Benner

Names of applicants whose files were scheduled for review and subsequently were tabled due to loss of quorum are listed on the last page of these minutes.

B. Appeals

1. Daria Siriano

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, members requested additional information.

2. Tiffany Green

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant was properly noticed, but did not appear.

Following review and discussion by members, Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to deny the informal based on continued supervised work experience and clinical supervision deficiencies. The motion passed unanimously.

3. Chelsea Bogen

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, members requested additional information.

13. Applications for educational programs: review, consideration and possible action.

A. Phoenix Seminary Master of Arts in Counseling

Members reviewed information regarding the program.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to rescind this committee's October 28, 2016, motion to recommend to the Board to approve the Master of Arts in Counseling program. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve the Master of Arts in Counseling as revised. The motion passed unanimously.

14. Future agenda items

None

15. Call for public comment

No one was present to respond to the call for public comment.

16. Establishment of future meeting dates

The next meeting is scheduled for Friday, December 16, 2016, at 9:00 a.m., at 3443 North Central Avenue, Room 1705.

17. <u>Adjournment</u> Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, the meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m.	o adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and
Janet O'Connor Secretary/Treasurer	Date

The Counseling Academic Review Committee lost quorum and could not review the applications listed below. These applications will be reviewed first during the committee's next monthly meeting on December 16, 2016.

Yvonne DeMoss Angelina Renna Cindy Montgomery

Ann Unrast Amanda Bernal Ashley Stano

Sharon Ball Dale Dana McGee Richard Thomas

Joni Delaney Melissa Register Tara Cleveland-Dickey

Emalee Grant Amanda Deemer John McLean

Sherry Johnson Eva Center

Laura Smyth Rebekah Dwyer

Michael Hanafin Kimberly Jackowski