

TOBI ZAVALA Executive Director

COUNSELING ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Thursday, May 26, 2016

Members Present: Patricia Kerstner, Kathleen Britton (out at 12:03 p.m.) Janet O'Connor

Staff Present: Donna Dalton, Deputy Director; Elma Brambila, Credentialing Specialist

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on May 26, 2016, at 9: 01a.m., with Dr. Kerstner presiding.

2. <u>Roll Call</u>

See above.

3. <u>Review and Approval of Minutes</u>

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the April 22, 2016, general meeting minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. <u>Report from Chair</u>

No report.

5. <u>Report from the Executive Director and/or staff</u>

A. General Agency Operations No report

6. <u>Assistant Attorney General's Report: Marc Harris, A.A.G.</u> No report.

7. <u>Supervisor exemption requests: review, consideration and action</u>

A. Andrea Kelly (size and geographic) Members reviewed information submitted regarding the request for exemption.

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to deny the request for an exemption. The motion passed unanimously.

- 8. <u>Applications for reassessment: review, consideration, and action</u> A. Rebecca Lutz
 - Tabled
- **9.** <u>Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions</u> Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting 60-day extensions to Maria Armenta, Traci Brown, Bret Dorsett, Benjamin Bleck-Owens and Chris Craig. The motion passed unanimously.
- 10. <u>Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding applications requesting review</u> <u>under rules prior to November 1, 2015</u>

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting review under the rules effective prior to November 1, 2015, for the applications of Mily Gomez, Nathan Mitchell, Leah Sklader-Yost and Carmen Calderon. The motion passed unanimously.

11. Exam accommodation requests: review, consideration and action None

- **12.** <u>Applications for licensure: review, consideration and action</u> Appeals
 - 1. Samantha Harper

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

2. Bruce Kahler

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

3. Kimberly Ross-Sullivan

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant was properly noticed, but did not appear.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

4. Dana Vargas

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion by members, Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to accept PSYC5273 Clinical Psychopathology and PYC7802 Psychological Testing for Assessment; PSYC 5713 Group Processes and PYC 8142 Introduction to Substance Abuse, Addiction and Related Disorders for Group work; and to recommend to the Board to deny the appeal based on continuing curriculum deficiencies. The motion passed unanimously.

5. *Catherine Campbell*

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

The Committee took a break for lunch at 11:47 a.m., reconvening its public meeting at 12:45 p.m.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 7 applicants as Licensed Professional Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Mirna Pacheco	Jamie Dana	Lesley Krickler	Lourenco De Sousa Teixeira
Stacey Beck	Kristopher Schlepp	Hannah Nunez	

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve Able Chapa as a Licensed Professional Counselor by endorsement upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 14 applicants as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Diane Breneman	Bruce Kahler	Catherine Campbell	Alicia Donovan
Brittany Clayton	Kimberly Ross-Sullivan	Craig Darragh	Gabrielle Loomis
Kelsey Jones	Lauren Dixon	Charity Northan-James	
Barbara Halvorson	Sondra Urquidez Atkinson	Gayna Rowe	

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to deny Maria Armenta based on her failure to establish that she meets minimum requirements by endorsement. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve Lauren Golombek as a Licensed Associate Counselor upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam, the required license issuance fee and the Board's disposition of the background investigation. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 12 applicants as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee:

Robin Carbone	Courtney Farrier	Jeanne Brown	Samantha Harper
Jacqueline Smith	Yolanda Beltran	Rudy Villalpando	Craig Dalton
Jennifer Rosenfeld-Hester	Blake Barney	Tamar Reed	Sarah Cowles

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to deny the following 7 applicants based on their failure to establish that they meet minimum requirements in education and/or supervised work experience.

Dorinda Walden	Anna Marie Vargas-Leveriza	Ruth Morgan Spann	Brittany Canfield
Cheryl Palazza	Lindsay McCann Greenman	Rebecca Montoya	

The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

Bayley Johnson	Diane Pedretti	Kristen Norton
Brian Jauregui	Darrina Bledsoe	Victoria Hamouz

13. <u>Applications for educational programs: review, consideration and possible action.</u> None

14. <u>Future agenda items</u>

None

15. Call for public comment

No one was present to respond to the call for public comment.

16. Establishment of future meeting dates

The next meeting is scheduled for Friday, June 24, 2016, at 9:00 a.m., at 3443 North Central Avenue, Room 1705.

17. Adjournment

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 4:36 p.m.

Janet O'Connor Secretary/Treasurer

Date