

STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXAMINERS 3443 NORTH CENTRAL AVENUE, SUITE 1700

PHOENIX, AZ 85012

PHONE: 602.542.1882 FAX: 602.364.0890

Board Website: www.azbbhe.us

Email Address: information@azbbhe.us

DOUGLAS A. DUCEY Governor

TOBI ZAVALA Executive Director

COUNSELING ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Friday, July 22, 2016

Members Present: Patricia Kerstner, Kathleen Britton, Janet O'Connor

Staff Present: Tobi Zavala, Executive Director; Zuri de Lucio, Credentialing Specialist

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on July 22, 2016, at 9:01 a.m., with Dr. Kerstner presiding.

2. Roll Call

See above.

3. Review and Approval of Minutes

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to approve the June 24, 2016, general meeting minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Report from Chair

No report.

5. Report from the Executive Director and/or staff

A. General Agency Operations

No report

6. Assistant Attorney General's Report: Marc Harris, A.A.G.

No report.

7. Supervisor exemption requests: review, consideration and action

A. Krystal Mazzola (outside supervisor)

Members reviewed information submitted regarding the request for exemption.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the request for an exemption. The motion passed unanimously.

8. Applications for reassessment: review, consideration, and action

None

9. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting 60-day extensions to Jayke Schrecengost, Richard Thomas and Chris Craig. The motion passed unanimously.

10. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding applications requesting review under rules prior to November 1, 2015

None

11. Exam accommodation requests: review, consideration and action

None

12. Applications for licensure: review, consideration and action

Appeals

1. William Morgan

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion by members, Ms. Britton moved seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to accept CP 602 Marriage, Family & Relationship Counseling II for Human growth and development; CP 529 Group Counseling II for Group work; CP 620 Research and Psychology for Research and program evaluation; and to deny the appeal based on continuing curriculum deficiencies. The motion passes unanimously

2. Tiffany Green

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant addressed the committee telephonically.

Following review and discussion by members, Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to deny the appeal based on continued supervised work experience and clinical supervision deficiencies. The motion passed unanimously.

3. Dawn Nance

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant addressed the committee telephonically.

Following review and discussion, Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to deny the appeal based on continuing curriculum deficiencies. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Dana Vargas

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Ms. Vargas as a Licensed Associate Counselor upon receipt the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Vargas withdrew her request for a formal hearing.

5. Sheila Adams

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Ms. Adams as a Licensed Associate Counselor upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Adams withdrew her request for a formal hearing.

The Committee broke for lunch at 11:55 a.m., reconvening its public meeting at 12: 55 p.m.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 11 applicants as Licensed Professional Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Nancy RojasStevens SheetsAngela CurtisKristine RumzisIola McMurrayLinda RuvalcabaBonnie GoosicLauren Hinson

Pamela Savola Brittani Antunes Salvador Cepeda

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve Sarah Megorden as a Licensed Professional Counselor by endorsement upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 6 applicants as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Gwen Mendez Bernadette Evans Ann Papagalos Elizabeth Holton Jeannie Bennett Brandon Jones

The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 5 applicants as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee:

Lakesha Duncan Yamile Daher Jill Slocum

Kristen Norton Darrina Bledsoe

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to deny Michael Zimmerman, Nephaterria Harris and Aisha Jakachira based on their failure to establish that they meet minimum requirements in education and/or supervised work experience. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve Emberly Lashley as a Licensed Associate Counselor upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam, the required license issuance fee and the Board's disposition of the background investigation. The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

Calley Steel Ruth Wheeler Annamari Hogan Alena Garcia Jose Amparo Tony Ledbetter

Names of applicants whose files were scheduled for review and subsequently were tabled due to loss of quorum are listed on the last page of these minutes.

13. Applications for educational programs: review, consideration and possible action.

None

14. Future agenda items

None

15. Can for public commicn	15.	Call	for	public	commen
----------------------------	------------	------	-----	--------	--------

No one was present to respond to the call for public comment.

16. Establishment of future meeting dates

The next meeting is scheduled for Friday, August 12, 2016, at 9:00 a.m., at 3443 North Central Avenue, Room 1705.

17. Adjournment

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 4:47 p.m.

Janet O'Connor
Secretary/Treasurer

The Counseling Academic Review Committee lost quorum and could not review the applications listed below. These applications will be reviewed first during the committee's next monthly meeting on August 12, 2016.

Jennifer Day Amanda Carter Trent Leupp Meija Peterson Tanya Hallgren Lydia Rodriguez Barbara Ventura Tanya Mundo Sarah Rogers Kristi Estrada Melanie Pariser Daria Siriano Traci Brown Shelley Pasma Jennifer Mobley Susan Balensky Michael Hanafin LaNaia Colbert Brian Blocker Thaddeus Labhart Terria Hanford

Kristin Burns Brent Peak