

STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXAMINERS 3443 NORTH CENTRAL AVENUE, SUITE 1700 PHOENIX, AZ 85012 PHONE: 602.542.1882 FAX: 602.364.0890 Board Website: <u>www.azbbhe.us</u> Email Address: <u>information@azbbhe.us</u>

TOBI ZAVALA Executive Director

COUNSELING ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES Friday, August 26, 2016

- Members Present: Patricia Kerstner, Janet O'Connor
- Members Absent: Kathleen Britton
- Staff Present: Tobi Zavala, Executive Director; Donna Dalton, Deputy Director; Elma Brambila, Credentialing Specialist

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on August 26, 2016, at 9:01 a.m., with Dr. Kerstner presiding.

2. <u>Roll Call</u>

See above.

3. <u>Review and Approval of Minutes</u>

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to approve the August 12, 2016, general meeting minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Report from Chair

No report.

5. Report from the Executive Director and/or staff

A. General Agency Operations No report

B. Review, consideration, and action regarding rules Members discussed rules and possible revisions

6. <u>Assistant Attorney General's Report: Marc Harris, A.A.G.</u> No report.

7. Supervisor exemption requests: review, consideration and action

A. Tammy Brewer (outside supervisor) Members reviewed information submitted regarding the request for exemption.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to deny the request for an exemption. The motion passed unanimously.

8. Applications for reassessment: review, consideration, and action

A. Danica Williams

Members reviewed information submitted in support of the reassessment request.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

- **9.** <u>Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions</u> Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting 60-day extension to Stephanie Vawter. The motion passed unanimously.
- 10. <u>Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding applications requesting review</u> <u>under rules prior to November 1, 2015</u> None
- **11.** Exam accommodation requests: review, consideration and action None
- 12. <u>Applications for licensure: review, consideration and action</u> <u>Appeals</u>
 1. Ruth Morgan Spann Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, members requested additional information.

2. William Morgan

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant and Lou Ann Wallner, from Pacifica Graduate Institute addressed the committee telephonically.

Following review and discussion by members, Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to accept CP 501 Theoretical Foundations of Psychotherapy and CP 516 Process of Psychotherapy II for Helping Relationship and to recommend to the Board to deny the appeal based on continued curriculum deficiencies. The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 16 applicants as Licensed Professional Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Jose Amparo	Lee Chang	Adrienne Horne	Christopher Robinson
Gyann Phillips	Collette Richards	Joshua Harper	Kelyn Younger
Bernadette Mariscal	Susan Schoon	Sherri Arenas	Rachel Holland
Elizabeth Frances	Terry Thorstad	Naomi Gauthier	Erica Trocino

The motion passed unanimously.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve Victoria Tewa as a Licensed Professional Counselor by endorsement upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve Nancy Baker as a Licensed Professional Counselor by endorsement upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 10 applicants as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Mark Harris	Virginia Pierce	Crystal Nesfield	Roshelle Johnson
Bernadette Roumbos	Benjamin Bleck-Owens	Victoria Hamouz	Calley Steel
Ruth Wheeler	Nutalia Rizwi		

The motion passed unanimously.

The Committee broke for lunch at 11:45 a.m., reconvening its public meeting at 12:45 p.m.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve the following 7 applicants as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee:

Patricia Toole	Sara Diaz	Richard Cadogan II	Tony Ledbetter
Brian Jauregui	Danica Williams	Carla Grace	

The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to deny Siavonh Lenaburg, Martha Horton, and Jayke Schrecengos, based on their failure to establish that they meet minimum requirements in education and/or supervised work experience. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to recommend to the Board to approve Timothy Coates, Jr. as a Licensed Associate Counselor upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam, the required license issuance fee and the Board's disposition of the background investigation. The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

Bayley Johnson	Kimberly Jackowski	Ashley Hippler	Valerie Wilson
Sharli Berry	Shannon Saumalu	Staphanie Wheeler	Maeve Shaughnessy
Traci Grabb			

Names of applicants whose files were scheduled for review and subsequently were tabled due to loss of quorum are listed on the last page of these minutes.

13. <u>Applications for educational programs: review, consideration and possible action.</u> <u>Appeals</u>

A. Ottawa University Master of Arts in Counseling Tabled

14. <u>Future agenda items</u>

None

15. <u>Call for public comment</u>

No one was present to respond to the call for public comment.

16. Establishment of future meeting dates

The next meeting is scheduled for Friday, September 23, 2016, at 9:00 a.m., at 3443 North Central Avenue, Room 1705.

17. Adjournment

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 4:21 p.m.

Janet O'Connor Secretary/Treasurer

Date

The Counseling Academic Review Committee lost quorum and could not review the applications listed below. These applications will be reviewed first during the committee's next monthly meeting on September 23, 2016.

Amanda Robinson Pamela Hunt Bonnie Wright-Robinson Kelli Lund Lily Cobham Amani Jarrar Angela Schultz Courtney Chettle Ratnamala Gunnala

Tawny Bill