

STATE OF ARIZONA BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH EXAMINERS 3443 NORTH CENTRAL AVENUE, SUITE 1700

PHOENIX, AZ 85012

PHONE: 602.542.1882 FAX: 602.364.0890

Board Website: www.azbbhe.us

Email Address: information@azbbhe.us

DOUGLAS A. DUCEY

TOBI ZAVALA
Executive Director

COUNSELING ACADEMIC REVIEW COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Friday, April 22, 2016

Members Present: Patricia Kerstner, Kathleen Britton, Janet O'Connor (out at 4:00)

Staff Present: Marc Harris, A.A.G.; and Elma Brambila, Credentialing Specialist

1. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order on April 22, 2016, at 9:05 a.m., with Dr. Kerstner presiding.

2. Roll Call

See above.

3. Review and Approval of Minutes

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor, to approve the March 24, 2016, general meeting minutes as submitted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Report from Chair

No report.

5. Report from the Executive Director and/or staff

A. General Agency Operations

Ms. Brambila presented the members with monthly reports and explained the work flow.

6. Assistant Attorney General's Report: Marc Harris, A.A.G.

No report.

7. Supervisor exemption requests: review, consideration and action

A. Robert Dale Labrum (out-of-state supervisor)

Members reviewed information submitted regarding the request for exemption.

Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the supervisor exemption request for Bobby Powell LMFT-OR. The motion passed unanimously.

8. Applications for reassessment: review, consideration, and action

None

9. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding requests for deficiency extensions

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting 60-day extensions to Michael Hanafin, Courtney Farrier and Loren Ashton and an exam extension to Ashleigh Malanga. The motion passed unanimously.

10. Consent agenda: review, consideration and action regarding applications requesting review under rules prior to November 1, 2015

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to approve the consent agenda as presented granting review under the rules effective prior to November 1, 2015, for the applications of Lindsay McCann-Greenman, Jamie Dana, Mary Coalson, Cristine Toel and Robert Dale Labrum. The motion passed unanimously.

11. Exam accommodation requests: review, consideration and action

None

12. Applications for licensure: review, consideration and action

Appeals

1. Sydney Peterson-Carsburg

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion by members, Ms. O'Connor moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner to accept MPS 603 Personality, Psychopathology, Diagnosis for Assessment; and verification of practicum; and to recommend to the Board to deny the appeal based on curriculum deficiencies. The motion passed unanimously.

2. Ilene Smith

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant was properly noticed, but did not appear.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

3. Bradley Devar

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

4. Samuel Hardwig

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant appeared and addressed the committee.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

5. Rose Oplinger

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant was properly noticed, but did not appear.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

6. Ezzard Brown

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant was properly noticed, but did not appear.

Following review and discussion by members, Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Ms. O'Connor to deny the appeal based on continued curriculum deficiencies. The motion passed unanimously.

7. Mari Oxentenko

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant was properly noticed, but did not appear.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements.

8. Jill Unruh

Members reviewed information regarding the appeal.

The applicant was properly noticed, but did not appear.

Following review and discussion, members agreed the applicant meets minimum requirements. Ms. Unruh withdrew her request for a formal hearing.

The Committee took a break for lunch at 11:57 a.m., reconvening its public meeting at 12:55 p.m.

Ms. Britton moved, seconded by Dr. Kerstner, to recommend to the Board to approve the following four applicants as Licensed Professional Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Christina Behrens Stephanie Breitenstein Melissa Richardson Christian Vasquez

The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Elizabeth Menard and Rose Oplinger as Licensed Professional Counselors by endorsement upon receipt of the required license issuance fee. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve the following seven applicants as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of the required license issuance fee:

Samuel Hardwig Jill Unruh Brandy Stuhan Lauren Rush

Monica Carpentieri Mari Oxentenko Mary Jensen

The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Emily Farabaugh as a Licensed Associate Counselor upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam, the required license issuance fee, and the Board's disposition of the background investigation. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve Bradley Devar as a Licensed Associate Counselor upon receipt of the required license issuance fee and the Board's disposition of the background investigation. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to approve the following seven applicants as Licensed Associate Counselors upon receipt of a passing score on the required exam and the required license issuance fee:

Kerry Taylor Laura Oliver Jessica Brubaker Rhiannon Cruz

Greta Shumway Joseph Delagrave Ilene Smith

The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to recommend to the Board to deny William Morgan based on his failure to establish that he meets minimum requirements in education and/or supervised work experience. The motion passed unanimously.

Following review, members requested additional information on the following applications:

Benjamin Bleck-Owens	Tony Johnson	Venessa Laguerre	Brandon Jones
Lauren Golombek	Tamar Reed	Barbara Halvorson	Bernadette Evans
Jeanne Brown	Jill Slocum	Kelsey Jones	Laura Smyth
Gayna Rowe	Tony Ledbetter	Sarah Cowles	
Yamile Daher	Jeannie Benett	Jayke Schrecengost	

13. Applications for educational programs: review, consideration and possible action.

None

14. Future agenda items

None

15. Call for public comment

No one was present to respond to the call for public comment.

16. Establishment of future meeting dates

The next meeting is scheduled for Thursday, May 26, 2016, at 9:00 a.m., at 3443 North Central Avenue, Room 1705.

17. Adjournment

Dr._ Kerstner moved, seconded by Ms. Britton, to adjourn. The motion passed unanimously and the meeting was adjourned at 4:47 p.m.

Janet O'Connor	Date
Secretary/Treasurer	